Happy Thanks Giving, America

01.jpg 

Although those that are dearest to my family are back on the mainland, I would like to wish everyone a joyous, peaceful and crafty holiday weekend. 

While we are not having a traditional dinner we are eating, for that , I am grateful. 

While there is no sweet potato pie or relish tray, we have a roof over our heads and heat.  Maybe if we are lucky someone will remember to record the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade (including commercials, those are the best!) for us…And for that we will be grateful…If not, I can tell the kids how Aunt Darlene and I were part of the Guiness Book of Records for the largest number of choreographed tap dancers in the world…We used to drag the kids thru cold, snow or high water to line the road in New York to see the parade.

 I will miss the football games…alot!  B ut I can surf the net and see how my teams are doing: because we do have a computer, DSLz and electricity.  I am truly thankful for that.

And while I don’t say it nearly enough, I am SO thankful that I was able to see beyond my own boarders as a child and develope a taste for travel, creativity and learning.  I would have never ventured out to university in Georgia or West ( By God) Virginia; seen the Eiffel Tower, The Sidney Opera House or run a 5k in Hamberg, Germany.  I am grateful that I nodded off in my Mel*n Bank interview for the Portfolio/ Funds and Investments job…because I really loved airplanes and that was my real passion.  I have had the priveledge of standing 2 stories off the ground and directing one of the largest aircraft in the world into a parking position…I have towed jumbo jets with a tractor and moved them around the tarmac because there were no other women that wanted to do it at that time…in that place…I am extremely grateful.

Trying to be really mindful that my kids don’t listen to what I say as much as they watch what I do…

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Happy Thanks Giving, America

  1. Lorna

    You obviously don’t need the trimmings to feel the meaning. Happy Tahnksgiving from Canada, where we finished with that turkey stuff 6 weeks ago.

  2. WOW!!! You are deep and have A LOT to be thankful for. Your ability be rich in travel and mindful beyond your years for your kids sake…God Bless -Karla

  3. Airports are the greatest, aren’t they?

    We didn’t watch the parade but here’s hoping someone taped it for you, giving you one small additional pleasure to be thankful for.

  4. what a wonderful post that was!

    happy thanksgiving from our family to yours! 🙂

  5. Thanks for the great post!!
    We had a great day here–especially with all that football on ALL day long!! I love it!!

Leave a Reply

