Glad Påsk! Happy Easter! Good Passover!

 203471035_bfb5b45101.jpg

Yes, Virginia even the most heathern of us celebrate the holidays and while I would normally be sitting front and center in Blessed Sacrament Church, alas…I sit here typing and scrappin the day away… ( This is where I say something contrite like ” God knows my heart”. 

Rather than anger the masses with my nonsense, I just think I will will wish everyone a happy what ever it is you believe, hold dear and have faith in weekend. 

pask.jpg This is a layout of Maya dressed as an Easter witch…Påsk Kärring…All of the kids get made up and  are dressed as witches and go door to door giving out hand made Easter cards and they are given candy, just like trick or treat.   They put freckles and rouge on their cheeks; the girls wear a long  skirt, maybe a wig and a kerchief tied under the chin.  The boys have a large vest and a hat .   This was the first påsk kärring ( Easter old lady) for baby girl.  The witches fly to “England” for a convention and the bonfires were used to “light their way back to Sweden…( this is according to The Hubbs and Jack Daniels, so if you really wanna know, look it up 🙂 ).  The 30th of April is Valborgsmässafton and that is the evening that the witches return to Sweden…The thought is that if everyone lights bonfires all over the country the witches are confused and cannot find their way home.  

9 Comments

Filed under Damn kids, Sweden

9 responses to “Glad Påsk! Happy Easter! Good Passover!

  1. Even after living ‘next door’ for almost 25 years I hardly know anything about Sweden. I didn’t know that they had this tradition. They do something similar here in Finland on the Sunday before Easter. Usually girls do it but over the past few years boys have started to do it too. They dress as witches and say a little rhyme to whoever (whomever?) opens the door. They then give a pussy willow branch that they have decorated with coloured feathers and/or tissue paper in exchange for candy, chocolate or money. For the last few years I’ve bought chocolate but no one has come to the door. So I’ve decided that next year I won’t buy any. I suppose the witches will come then!

  2. I had to come see what you are creating. I have heard of the bon-fires but not the rest. Your Hubs and Jack gave me a laugh. You are so funny.
    I’m good, just over my head with stuff.

  3. GC

    I have NEVER heard of that before. What is this?!

  4. Preciouse LO! And I understand about the whole do what’s in your heart thing. Ever since I moved here we have not been that active in Church. It isn’t like we worship the hot guy it’s just something that just it. But I would sincerely appreciate it if you would send me some of that “…scrappin’ the day away” vibes over this way. I need a creative boost! LOL!!!!

    Hope you are having a wonderful hoiliday!
    -Karla

  5. Preciouse LO! And I understand about the whole do what’s in your heart thing. Ever since I moved here we have not been that active in Church. It isn’t like we worship the hot guy it’s just something that just is. But I would sincerely appreciate it if you would send me some of that “…scrappin’ the day away” vibes over this way. I need a creative boost! LOL!!!!

    Hope you are having a wonderful hoiliday!
    -Karla

  6. That is indeed a nice tradition in Sweden. I am not sure if we have here in Norway though. Anyway Happy Easter to you and to your family!

  7. What an amazing celebration and tradition and I love your wishes to all for this past holiday.
    I’ve been unusually busy the last few weeks. I’m going to need some me time to come up for air. I’ve had the foster child for seven of April’s days respite so far and now my 2 1/2 year old grandson is here until Thursday (a blessing) and I have the feeling that I’ll no sooner get him home and then the foster child will be back again. The garden calls, the dog needs walking twice a day on the beach and I’m so far behind in leaving blog comments, that people will think I’ve fallen off the face of the earth. I’m still kicking!

  8. I’m in a hurry as usual these days, just a short reminder about the big shopping day tomorrow thursday for the cruise ball.

    I’ve posted 1 rule about it on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

