Thrifting (last ) Thursday

I found a couple of nice things that I needed for the small house.  I am looking for vintage things as this is the first time I have had to start from the very bottom with absolutely zero furnishings.  I found a new rug (sealed in plastic) from Ikea for only 13.00,  a really cool cabinet with 12 glass front drawers for $148.00 and a mail box for $6.00.  With the serious stuff to still be found, I scored:case.jpgthis old suitcase to alter and store stuff in…opencase.jpgan oversized world atlas in Swedish I had had my eye on for a whilleboken1.jpg and a trip to the so called paint and hobby store scored 3 sets of nesting boxes and a painted wooden box that is perfect ATC size.  All $1.48 each or the proverbial 10 kronor…The larger boxes were painted just for display purposes, but the oval ones were plain and unaltered. 

loda.jpg.  Then I scored copies of the New Somerset Memories and Artful Blogging for $5.00 each and 11 dollars shipping so I could see Michelle’s button collection on page 166! 

 But the piece d resistance!!!frida.jpg

10 Comments

Filed under Thrifting, Who does she think she is?

10 responses to “Thrifting (last ) Thursday

  1. Hey girl! I scrap 12×12 mainly but also dabble in 8.5×11. I would love to do a trade. My email address is cayliehotpants@hotmail.com if you fancy sharing a couple of pics of the albums you have. I could choose one and then make you up a trade pressy if you let me know what kinda stuff you fancy! I must say that you are super sweet girl, it is soooo nice that you would do this for me!

  2. Hey, thanks for visiting and saying such sweet things!

  3. Thrifting AND Ikea?! Man, it sucks to be you.

    Do you know how long it’s been since I’ve thrifted?! I’m forever whining about it. Maybe next week I’ll finally get the time. And then I’ll finally have something new to blog about. ha!

    By the way, I bet our Ikeas suck compared to yours.

    Man, I’ve said Suck three times in one post. I feel like I’m 14 again.

  4. So what did I miss? New empty house? I remember a post about a cabin I think. Hmmm, guess I need to read back a few.

    I love old suitcases, be sure to let us see what you do with yours.

    Darla

  5. craftygallinda

    Love the Frida book. Looks like you had fun!!!!

  6. Vintage can be very cool! I also wanted to say thank you for being so nice to my wife on her blog.

    Jeff

  7. I love that old suitcase!!!! How cool!!!!

    So, how was it with that post you were gonna write about Fulu fjäll? Is it going to get up soon or shall I remove it from the cruise schedule?

    We do want to see it, but if you find it hard, I’ll remove it, no problem 🙂

  8. Ah – Frieda Kahlo. *grins* Do you personally relate to her work?

  9. How incredible!!! Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

