Blog sabbatical for a week…or so.

I’m sort of at a loss for thought right now.

My MIL has an inoperable tumor in her lung.  It is cancerous and she will have to undergo Chemotherapy sessions to minimize it.  Everyone is in shock somewhat as my MIL is only 62.  She has a horse and rides frequently as well as travels extensively.  I want to be a help, but don’t know what to do.  I can send meals, clean once a week and other wise contribute, but I ache so badly for her and my mom.

Mom is doing well in the rehab center and has to learn to walk and re-coordinate her motor skills…This is her fifth or sixth stroke, induced by low level seizure medicine…

9 Comments

Filed under life

9 responses to “Blog sabbatical for a week…or so.

  1. Gina, I’m not getting the full blog post as everything is magnified for some reason….

    I’m glad to hear that your mother is doing well and responding to the treatment she is receiving.

    My heart goes out to your mother-in-law and to you and the rest of your family. A cancer diagnosis is difficult and when you hear the word “inoperable” your heart freezes. Chemotherapy may well shrink the tumour to the point that they can operate…

    For now, everything you have said that you can do is what you will do. And you will offer love and support, a smile, a hug and you will just make this as easy as possible for your mother-in-law.

    Take care of you, your husband and children as well. Talk about what this means, inform yourself about her cancer, be with her at appointments if possible to listen to what is being said to her — or make sure someone else is with her. Quite often the person diagnosed “misses” things that are said and it helps to have a second pair of ears.

    Ask questions..when you aren’t sure of something, ask. Remind your mother-in-law to ask as well. Sometimes doctors don’t elaborate and it’s a patient’s right to ask and have answers.

    My heart, my prayers and my thoughts are with you all.

  2. I’m so sorry to read of your MIL’s cancer, I will keep her in my prayers. Cancer can be equally hard on the loved ones as well, so take care of you my friend.

    You asked how to get the tea on my blog, you can visit their website at http://www.ghfordtea.com/.

    Sending healing thoughts your way-
    Laura xxx

  3. Oh, I just hate to hear about your MIL. I will be praying for her.

    Try to have a good weekend. {hugs}

  4. Gina, I am so sorry about your MIL. I hope the chemo helps. Glad to hear that your mother is improving.

  5. liz

    i’m so sorry to read this. prayers to you and your family.

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your MIL’s cancer.

    I’m sure you have done everything you can and will continue to do everything you can. I know she finds comfort in knowing that you are there for her.

    Thinking of you baby!

    ♥♥♥

  7. Double Wammy…means double prayer time, I’ll keep all of you in prayer.

  8. Sweetheart, I’m so sorry. D and I are sending lots of love and prayers of comfort to your family. Just keep doing what you’re doing. It may not seem like much to you, but I imagine it means even more than you know. xoxo

Leave a Reply

