New year, same stuff…

dsc01647I am struggling for patience.

WHY do teenagers feel compelled to challenge their parental units with nonsense?

I guess I should be grateful that they are  relatively respectful,  do what we ask them to do ( meaning mumbling under the breath when out of earshot); and aren’t out dragging the streets or  tourchering the citizens of our fair town.   There  is a community center that has been established to keep the teens off of the streets and hopefully out of trouble.  My two think that they should be allowed to go every night, just because the center exists.   I am a bit concerned about exactly WHAT it is that they do there, that they feel the need to go EVERY night.  One is upstairs in his room pouting and the other is sitting against the wall in the living room, texting his friends, probably looking for support.

majorette

I remember being in high school and wanting to be in the Drama club, Honor Roll and a Majorette…All kids these days want to do is hang out and exercise their thumbs.  Do I really NOT understand the pressures of being a teen?  I saw on Dr. Phil that teen girls are getting tongue piercings in record numbers just to enhance some boy’s oral experience.  What am I missing?  My boys barely shower and I have to threaten them with bodily harm just to get their laundry done!!!    I could not IMAGINE any girl being desperate enough to even entertain the idea of …well, I’ll just leave it alone.    I would  rather have my kids pissed off at me and in their rooms than cavorting on the streets looking for trouble.  Mothers of teens, where are you and does this ish get any easier???

I owe 2 art exchanges to friends in the States and Canada.  I must get these posted yesterday.  I fell behind so far when I went home, I don’t even see the light of catching up day. Thank you to everyone that I promised something to and did not deliver….Hate mail makes my eyes water, lol!

ps..My Mother is well and feisty as all get out!  She is relearning to play cards and asks for The Price Is Right to be turned on everyday!    I am so happy, I could jump around!  If you have a elderly relative in a care facility or center, please please…make time for them and visit them.  It would make their day and bring tremendous joy to their progress in healing!

efe5befd1bead31c884cd4484b3602b4

9 Comments

Filed under bitching and stuff, Damn kids, life

9 responses to “New year, same stuff…

  1. Well, I am raising a 17 year old man-child by myself, and *sigh* . . . I was just asking someone today, “why do they stay babies for such a short time and teenagers so daggone long?!”

    I wish I could tell you that it gets better, but I have no idea. I’m not there yet. And as for all that other stuff you wrote about? Well, let’s see . . . I still have to ask for the trash to be taken out, the dishes rinsed and placed in the dishwasher, the clean folded clothes to be taken into the bedroom and put UP – not placed in a neat pile on the FLOOR. Turn the lights out if you’re not in that particular room, quit asking me for money all the time, no you can’t get a dog – you can’t even take care of yourself! and, well, the list goes on and on and on . . . .*sigh*

  2. I got so caught up in the first part of your blog post that I forgot to tell you that I’m glad to hear that your mother is doing much better! xoxo

  3. GC

    hey, I look at it this way–opinionated teens make for bold adults. Teens who know how to say no to what they don’t want and don’t believe in are better than teens who say yes to everything and try to please everyone. We need more grownups who aren’t pleasers.

    And that’s grrrreat news about your Mom.
    🙂

  4. Yes,what Sherry says. My girls raised hell with me and are now very successful (and I might add, loving) adults. I’m proud of them.
    And good news about your mother. I still wish I could pick up the phone and call my mother, oh, about every day or so.

  5. Hang in there! Happy new year.

  6. Well, I was a horrible teenager to my Mum, and she always wished me kids that treated me the same way!!

    My two aren’t too bad though. In fact, Benjamin seems to be getting better as he gets older, not worse, and we never have any problems with Rebecca. Never say never though, there’s still time, lol!

    So glad to hear your Mum is doing well:)

  7. Hi Gina,

    Did you receive my message that you had won a gift at the Great Christmas Giveaway? If you would send your mailing address to angelinastrinkets@comcast{dot}net, I will get your gift into the mail. If you would like to see what you have won, please go to http://thegreatchristmasgiveaway.blogspot.com You won gift #3.

    Blessings,
    Angelina

  8. Hi, I back in space… bought a new computer…. Hugs Jenatte

  9. Hey girl,
    I don’t have any children (and don’t plan to!) but I’d still like to offer my 2 cents. Keep laying down the law, they’ll thank you for it later!!! That’s all I got. 🙂

    Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

