Rethinking life

Blogging has taken a back seat for a while…

Due to the impending economic crisis in Sweden, I find it necessary to pick up extra jobs at work.  I am not “fast änstalled” which means permanently employed so I have no committment to any hours or days.    Problem is these days is is that even the permanently employed are finding themselves made redundant; left high and dry with no promise of things to come.  Volvo and Sabb are just 2 of the many employers that are decimating the small communities around here with their massive layoffs and plant closings.  Ericksson has announced that they are too, planning reductions.

With all going crazy around me, it is with pride that I say, at least I have a job…for now.  I am maintaining contacts with friends in NY/NJ just in case I have to activate ” plan B” which means going back home to find a job.  The Hubbs and kids would be forced to stay here and I would have to support them from the other side of the pond.  At least I have a plan B, and a plan C, too, come to think of it.

I am so glad we did not take the building loan last summer and work on the house.  We need some painting;  windows replaced; kitchen remodeling etc…and I am married to the worlds” non handiest” man…If it does not have a motor, The Hubbs  does not understand it.   His work truck died today and he had to scramble to find something suitable, yet affordable.

The twins are now “employed” on weekends to help out and ” make it do what it do”, lol!   In exchange for their work ( 2 hours a day) they receive extra computer time,  pocket money and the knowledge that they are also helping to försörjer  (support) the family.

The best outcome of this is that we are pulling together as a family.

Now if only my mojo would come back.

4 Comments

Filed under bitching and stuff, life, Sweden, The truth

4 responses to “Rethinking life

  1. I will keep you in my prayers that things will turn around for you real soon! cyber hugs and kisses from Southern California

  2. Hang in there. Seems I have sent you mojo before. I’m sending it again. Catch it and run.

  3. Sharon:
    As usual, your mojo was graciously received and used to help finish the Winter Theme book swap that I participated in. Tack så mycket! ( thanks so much)!

    Sherry:
    It was because of E.lynn that I attatched myself to you and you have held my hand and led me along like no other…You SO rock and I will never forget your loving touch, and willingness to take my twin 16 year-olds to live with you, LOL!!!

  4. It’s the whole system going down. Unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

