How to carve cork stamps? I now know!

You need a sharp blade on an exacto knife or a small linoleum cutting tool for really intricate details.  DSC01657The patterns should be drawn on the top of the cork first, I used a sharpie marker.  I started simple with just a square and a star-ish design. (note: all corks are not created equal!  Most of them started to fall apart after just a little slicing.  I just tossed them and began again.  I even soaked one in warm water to see if it made a difference, and it did not.  After about the 4th one, I finally figured out just how much to take off and how deep to cut to produce a pattern.  Even after I got my shape to take place, some of the uneven areas of the cork surface would not hold ink so it is really trial and error, but it was kind of rewarding.DSC01666

After having minimal success with carving erasers ( they all fell apart) I need to move on.  Now where are the corks? I know I had some, somewhere?

I managed to get my hands on UTEE in clear, black and gold…and once the little one is down for a nap, the tools come out!  What is a better purchase, a Slice or a Cuttlebug?  I may want to see if I can find someone that is willing to sell me a used CB because they are 1,000 Swedish kronor here (about $150.00 us…which is a ripoff cause I know you can get them at Michael s and or Joannes with a 50% off coupon, lol!)

I need to use up a lot of patterned paper…any suggestions?

8 Comments

Filed under Altered Books, Art, The truth, tough economic times

8 responses to “How to carve cork stamps? I now know!

  1. Gina…I have a cuttlebug…and a wizard….and a bigshot, well you get the idea, overkill! LOL But anyway, I use my cuttlebug most of all. I like that it will cut everyone’s dies and It folds up so it doesn’t take so much room on your counter, and it has a handle to cart it around. So, unless you need to cut the really big dies that Sizzix just came out with (which I have not found a need for) then I would recommend it of all the diecutters. I have not used a cricut, xyron machine, or slice so I cannot comment on them however.

    Now for the patterned paper….here is one idea. The ATCs featured on the front page of the Paper Traders Swaps group here are mine…and I used FIVE different patterned papers on them. See the picture here: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PT_Swaps/ I am going to work on my blog today…been very lax on it since spring, but I will try to get the pictures up there today as they will go off of the PT Swaps front page tomorrow night.

  2. I didn’t know that one can create stamps from corks. Now that gives me an idea to some creative stuff I am going to do on some school projects.

  3. You are such a busy and creative girl, so I was hoping to be able to help you – but not this time; Sorry!

  4. Actually Gina Michael’s and Joann’s coupons usually exclude the diecuts and their accessories.. I wouldn’t mind having a cb myself 🙂

  5. billiescraftroom

    Hi Gina

    Personal preference wheather you go for Cuttlebug or Slice.

    I have a Cuttlebug and LOVE IT. I like the fact I can use dies from various manufacturers. I want to cut and emboss so the Cuttlebug was right for me.

    Electronic cutting machines on the market just now..for me are not worth having UNTIL they let me create my own stuff on a computer, eg using Photoshop etc and then have the option of cutting it out. Memory cards are dirt cheap but the manufacturers are selling their image cards for £40 – £60 each! DOH

    In fairness it really depends on what you want to do with your machine. If you like the clip art style of images and fonts on offer with the various machines and are happy to pay the high prices for a collection, then the slice might be fine for you. It doesn’t emboss though, just cuts out shapes! GM on the forum has one if you want to speak to someone who has one 😉

    Start a discussion on the forum for lots of people opinions of the machines 🙂 🙂

    Best wishes

    Billie 🙂

Leave a Reply

