And when the Saints go marching in..

291454261_10dfab6224_o[1]I found this photo of my mother, fresh out of high school and holding a baby of a friend who’s name she could not remember.  I can think about all of the times we would put on her high heels and clack around the house , never getting the benefit of the added height because we were too small to balance on the heels, just in the toes. Mom always wore red lipstick and said you had to be 21 to do it.

My mother’s spirit has left this world this morning.  I am sad, but honored that she fostered my spirit and shared a place in my heart.  When I grew up and was able to repay her kindness, she was always excited by the things she got to experience and enjoy.  She said her most memorable experience was her first flight to Las Vegas and she always lit up every time she spoke about it.  My MIL passed last Thursday and we were reeling from the loss.  Now where do I begin to pull strength from?  I am off for a while.  Be kind to each other and especially, yourself.

I will miss you Mommy.

15 Comments

Filed under life

15 responses to “And when the Saints go marching in..

  1. Praying for you G. My deepest condolences to you and your entire family. Safe travels my friend.

  2. oh my dearest,
    How mutch can you take… Sorry by the lost. And you was´t even there. To say godbay.. My heart i bleading for you. Hugs Jeanette

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. Please know that I am thinking and praying for you and your family. Hugs, Judy

  4. Thinking of you and your family.

  5. This is so sad, losing both Mothers in such a short time has to be hard.

    Sending a big HUG!

    Darla

  6. QuuenPam

    My prayers are with you.

  7. Tänker på dig och din familj!

  8. My deepest condolences to you and your family. I’ll be thinking about you. Your mother was so beautiful!

  9. Joolz Benner

    hi gina, just catching up with your blog and read your sad news. so sorry for both of you losing your mothers in such a short space of time. my heart goes out to you both. take care of each other and cherish your beautiful memories. warm hugs,

  10. She was a beautiful Mommy! So sorry for your loss. I will be thinking about you. Much love to you.

  11. Hej på dig.

    Jisses jag var uttråkad och trillar runt på en massa nya bloggar. Tror jag inte varit hos dig förr och då kom jag på att du kanske vill vara med på min bloggrunda. Varje vecka fär jag frågor om jag vet vilket blogg en person har. Så det är bra om man lägger till sig så slipper de fråga. Du är så välkommen till:
    http://minbloggrunda.blogspot.com/

  12. Peppypilotgirl

    I am so very sorry to hear of your double loss, Gina – you and yours are in my prayers.

  13. hi, tried to cal you… knowbody is anwsering.. Where are you? Have you gone to the stats?
    Give me a cal… Hugs Jeanette

  14. Oh, I am so sorry. I just read about this. She was so beautiful.

  15. Pat

    Hello Sweetie Pie,
    I just tuned in to the sad news. I’m so very sorry. I can remember the pain of it all…..but also the sort of relief that you feel knowing they are not suffering but have gone to what they were created for….to spend eternity with Jesus. Be blessed and know that both mamas fulfulled their earthly duties with fervor and are now reaping their just rewards.

Leave a Reply

