Learning new things…repurposing the old

At the ALL Things TIM group, someone posted a link to their blog and showed the faux leather technique.  I was able to try and reproduce it and was quite pleased with the results.  I will credit the poster as soon as I find her…:)I used  a brown paper bag, crumpled it and colored it with Distress Inks, then finished it with 2 coats of matt finish.  This will become the cover of a journal.

I accidently bought several yards of  un primed canvas, thinking I could use it for another project, but it was the wrong stuff… Trying to utilize and clear out my stash, I decided to try some craft paints on it, hoping to use it for book binding.

Just when I thought I was finished, I remembered that somewhere in the room “where hope radiates”, there is some Lumiere paint that I will put over the top!   Having trouple posting photos in sequence, but lastly…

Then I found an old cosmetic travel tote that I am now loading up with my pens and stuff, so I can sit on the deck and journal!   Staying true and committed to not spending what I don’t need to …Aside from that, you can no longer bring full bottles of anything on the aircraft so it is about time it found a new life…

3 Comments

Filed under Mixed media art, repurposed items, tough economic times

3 responses to “Learning new things…repurposing the old

  1. Looks like you’re having fun. The faux leather technique looks cool. Can’t wait to see it as a journal cover.

  2. Goodness, I remember that faux leather technique from some time ago. I’m going to have to give it another try. I’m always trying the “new” and forgetting what I already did that worked. Thanks for the reminder.

    Darla

  3. started a Junque Journal and used the “crumpled paper/distress ink” method for some pages. And I love those travel bags for storage! Just went on a trip, and they were perfect! {:-Deb

Leave a Reply

