Win some, lose some.

Right now, I am in the latter category.  After an afternoon of watching the ever fabulous Rach do inkjet transfers in her journal.   I felt ready to try it.  She said cheap photo paper worked best.  I have a supply of generic Quill brand  ( Swedish “Staples”, which incidentally was bought out by Staples just last year).

Well, I guess I should have test run somewhere other than my journal because a pending disaster soon became reality…lol

The makeshift paint pallet is there to disguise the horror that is my transfer… the black marks on the left are where I laid my stamp pad, not knowing I had not closed the lid…it only goes down hill from here,  🙂

Still not thwarted, I press on. I choose another paper (same make, different gloss/weight) and try again.  This time, I get the paper rubbed off, but the final layer is not revealed or lifting.  I then lift it to see if it has transferred, and the whole film layer of the paper comes up.  No transfer just the plastic overlay of the photo paper…

  • Lessons learned.: Never do test runs in your journal, if they go bad…well, we won’t go there.
  • Close your ink pad before you lay it down, better still clean your desk and stop arting on the keyboard tray.
  • Don’t be put off by failure or as The Journal Artista says, a ” flopertunity” .  It makes for a blog post and a good laugh!

plan B if this continues south…

1 Comment

Filed under mixed media, The truth, Want some cheese with that whine?, WTF?

One response to “Win some, lose some.

  1. Word Press just informed me that this is my 400th blog post! Yay me..:)

Leave a Reply

